fbpx

June 10, 2021

PST (07:00 PM - 8:00 pm)

Facebook Twitter Ticket Donation Event Feed Add to Calendar

SFJAZZ presents the first-ever U.S. broadcast of a rarely seen documentary and concert film giving a glimpse into the life and music of jazz giant Thelonious Monk on Thursday, June 10 at 7pm PT / 10pm ET via sfjazz.org.

About the film – Music in Monk Time: A Retrospective Tribute to Thelonious Sphere Monk combines interview and performance footage of Monk’s classic compositions by his legendary associates Dizzy Gillespie, Carmen McRae, and Milt Jackson, along with Monk quartet members Charlie Rouse, Ben Riley, and Larry Gales with Walter Davis, Jr. on piano. Additionally, a big band featuring Terence Blanchard and Monk’s son, drummer TS Monk, recreates the famous 1959 Town Hall concert. Written and narrated by iconic vocalist Jon Hendricks, the film balances these live performances with rare archival film footage of Monk and photos borrowed directly from his famous patron the Baroness Pannonica de Koenigswarter, tracing Monk’s career through the decades.

SFJAZZ premiered the film to a sold-out crowd in March 1985, and the film was televised throughout the world, however it has never been broadcast in the United States, making this the second time SFJAZZ has premiered this priceless document of jazz history.

The broadcast costs $10 for SFJAZZ members and $15 for the public, and is part of SFJAZZ’s virtual summer festival. More info here: https://www.sfjazz.org/sfjazz-digital/rent-music-in-monk-time/

There will also be an encore rebroadcast of the film on Sunday, June 13 at 6 PM PT / 9 PM ET via sfjazz.org.

Links



Fusicology