Black Coffee’s album is quite possible the best release of 2016. This spiritual, powerful, genre-bending record consists of dark, deep bass lines, rhythmic percussion and beautifully powerful vocals throughout – a true masterpiece.

Coffee’s ability to stay real, deep and gritty, yet be able to cross-over to appeal to the masses is prolific. He fuses soul, house and Afropolitan sounds bringing this South African star into the mainstream for an ancestral sound which this world, in these days and times, is yearning for.

I have had the pleasure of promoting Black Coffee to the masses starting at Winter Music Conference half a decade ago as the Publisher of Fusicology for years since then – seeing Coffee progress into such a star, including his win at the BET Awards recently is a testament to his immense talent – he is iconic and proof that Africa is the Future and Black Coffee is leading the way.

Magic. Truly next level.


South Africa’s multi-award winning record producer and DJ Black Coffee is here with his album Pieces of Me, out now on Ultra Music. The 12-track album maintains a soulful house rhythm throughout, complimented by powerful vocals from Mque, Cara Frew, Nakhane Touré, Mondli Ngcobo, Portia Monique and more, adding a wonderful diversity to the project. Pieces of Me is brimming with wooden percussion and deep, rumbling sounds that draw from his native country whilst still maintaining the kind of universality that ensures his musical influence will reach far beyond Africa’s borders.

The emotionally charged spoken word intro from Lebo Mashile sets the theme for the rest of the album. Black Coffee picks up the tempo, track by track, incorporating elements of house music coupled with soaring vocals. The single “Come with Me” features vocalist Mque and offers an odyssey through strings interlaced with jazzy percussion. As the album continues into proper dance, “Stuck In Your Love” brings listeners to their feet. On “We Dance Again,” Black Coffee balances heavy kicks with the much softer inflections of empowering lyrics and harmonies from singer Nakhane Touré. Pieces of Me draws to a close with “I Will Find You”, a track to soothe your soul and ease your mind at the end of the journey.

With 4 award-winning albums under his belt, South African electronic artist Black Coffeehas been producing his distinctive brand of eclectic and soulful house for over a decade. In 2016, he performed at both Coachella and Ultra Music Festival in addition to being awarded Best International Act: Africa at the BET Awards. With each album release he continues to refine his sophisticated sound and remains steadfast in painstakingly selecting a diverse array of superior vocalists to showcase and collaborate with.

Pieces of Me Tracklist:

  1. Intro (feat. Lebo Mashile)
  2. Come With Me (feat. Mque)
  3. Stuck In Your Love (feat. Azola)
  4. Love On Fire (feat. Lungi Naidoo & Ribatone)
  5. Angelina (feat. NaakMusiQ & Mondli Ngcobo)
  6. Extra Time On You (feat. Portia Monique)
  7. I Have Faith (feat. Mondli Ngcobo)
  8. We Dance Again (feat. Nakhane Touré)
  9. Go On (feat. Khensy)
  10. Inkodlo KaMashimane
  11. The Beat Of Indlamu
  12. I’ll Find You (feat. Cara Frew)
Tags: , , , , , , , ,