Columbia/Legacy Celebrates the 90th Birthday of Miles Davis with EVERYTHING’S BEAUTIFUL The Recordings of Miles Davis Reimagined by Robert Glasper

New Album Features Guest Artists Including Erykah Badu, KING, John Scofield, Bilal, Ledisi, Stevie Wonder, Laura Mvula, Hiatus Kaiyote & Others

Columbia/Legacy will commemorate the 90th birthday of globally renowned music innovator Miles Davis with the release of Everything’s Beautiful. The album is a visionary exploration of Davis’ music, featuring reimagined interpretations of his music produced by Grammy Award winner Robert Glasper. Everything’s Beautiful will be available on Friday, May 27—the day after Miles’ 90th birthday—and incorporates Davis’ original recordings into new collaborative soundscapes featuring guest artists Bilal, Illa J, Erykah Badu, Phonte, Hiatus Kaiyote, Laura Mvula, KING, Georgia Ann Muldrow, John Scofield, Ledisi and Stevie Wonder.

iTunes – http://smarturl.it/Davis_Glasper_iTunes. The album is also available for pre-order at the official Miles Davis store on milesdavis.com.


Everything’s Beautiful is beautifully crafted collection produced by Robert Glasper, blending a diverse group of master takes and outtakes from across the incomparable Miles Davis Columbia catalog with an impressive lineup of contemporary artists and musicians to create original interpretations.


“I didn’t want to do just a remix record,” Glasper noted when discussing the 11-song set. “My idea was to show how Miles inspired people to make new art.” Realizing that “Miles didn’t have one audience,” Glasper recruited a legion of diverse guest artists to add to the magic of the project including familiar collaborators like R&B musicians Erykah Badu, Ledisi, Bilal and KING. They are joined by British soul singer-songwriter Laura Mvula; hip-hop producer Rashad Smith; Grammy-nominated Australian neo-soul quartet Hiatus Kaiyote, rapper/singer Phonte, rapper/producer Illa J; jazz guitarist John Scofield, who was in Miles Davis’ band; and the legendary Stevie Wonder.


Miles Davis is a rarity: a pioneering superstar who was constantly voyaging into new directions and genres with an ever changing cast of collaborators. Throughout his discography, sweeping change and innovation could happen based on who was in the studio and what they brought to his stunning musical vision. Few American artists have impacted popular music and culture in as broad and long-lasting a way as he did.


By similar design, pianist/producer Robert Glasper has built a career out of a vibrant fusion of R&B, jazz and hip-hop. As the leader of the acoustic Robert Glasper Trio and the electronic Robert Glasper Experiment, he’s pushed the boundaries of each genre he works in to their breaking point. This is the artist whose album, In My Element (2007), featured mashups of Herbie Hancock and Radiohead and tributes to rapper/producer J Dilla. 2013’s acclaimed Black Radio featured collaborations with Erykah Badu, Ledisi, Lupe Fiasco, Yasiin Bey and other artists. Black Radio was also capped by a sprawling cover of Nirvana’s “Smells Like Teen Spirit” and won a Grammy Award for Best R&B Album. Most recently, Glasper scored for Miles Ahead, the Miles Davis film directed by and starring Don Cheadle.


Everything’s Beautiful is unlike any other in Davis’ discography. From the familiar (riffs and passages within the catalog) to the obscure (samples of Miles’ in-studio instructions spoken after false starts), Glasper has built something unique but still unquestionably Miles. The cover art was created by Francine Turk and integrates elements of Miles Davis’ artwork. With the cover, Turk creates a visual that is similar to the idea of Robert Glasper taking fragments of Miles music and reinterpreting in a unique and modern way.



01. “Talking Shit”

02. “Ghetto Walkin” featuring Bilal

03. “They Can’t Hold Me Down” featuring Illa J

04. “Maiysha (So Long)” featuring Erykah Badu

05. “Violets” featuring Phonte

06. “Little Church” featuring Hiatus Kaiyote

07. “Silence Is The Way” featuring Laura Mvula

08. “Song For Selim” featuring KING

09. “Milestones” featuring Georgia Ann Muldrow

10. “I’m Leaving You” featuring John Scofield and Ledisi

11. “Right On Brotha” featuring Stevie Wonder


www.sonyclassics.com || www.milesdavis.com || www.legacyrecordings.com

Tags: , ,